Return of Sex Panther!

In 2004, I was very fortunate to have been Charna Halpern’s “+1” to the world premiere of “Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy.” It was in LA at Grauman’s Chinese Theater. I flew out early and spent the day walking about LA. I was excited about the movie; I had seen the trailers and thought they were very funny. I had met Adam McKay (director/co-writer) several times and Will Ferrel once (though I expected neither to remember me.)

Free mug!

Charna and I walked the red carpet. There’s a general entrance and then the path split into two; one leading into the theater and another into a loop that was for the press photos. We went directly in. Lots of free popcorn and soda for the invitation-only screening. Charna went to visit her celebrity friends and I just sat there drinking it all in. Pretty much everyone in comedy on the west coast was there. When the movie began, everyone cheered and clapped for each name in the credits; actors, we never outgrow some stuff.

In all honesty, it was the hardest I’ve ever laughed at a movie. Of course, the energy of room had a big part in that, but I still watch it all every time it’s rerun and I laugh my head off. I’ve only seen the special Best Buy DVD once though and I wish I owned it (it has a weird terrorist plot with Maya Rudolph and some others taking Veronica Corningstone captive.)

Now, I was very excited for the after-party. My head was filled with tales of hedonistic debauchery and culinary excess based on whatever happened in the movie. I was curious to see what they were going to do… Mexican food? Seafood? Nope. Based on a bit when Ron wins a hot dog eating contest (as Veronica busts a drug ring) there lots of hot dogs. Open bar though. Nice desserts. With failing memory, I recall seeing the Olsen Twins, Ben Stiller, Horatio Sanz, the cast of Anchorman (of course), no Christina Applegate at the party, however.

Saw Adam McKay and Will Ferrell and I stepped in just to say thanks and hello. Before I could finish my sentence, Adam said, “Hey, Jason, thanks for flying out. Good to see you.” and Will chimed in, “Good to see you again, man.” And that was cool.

So, all that to say that I’m excited for an Anchorman sequel and I hope to go to that premiere as well!!
(Brick’s origins can be traced to the Second City show, Pinata Full of Bees. The character in the scene “Gump”, played by Scott Adsit was written by Adam McKay.)

Leave a Reply

