Maybe I’m Amazed.

Today is Paul McCartney’s 70th birthday. Here’s a personal story of how the song “Maybe I’m Amazed” is part of my life.

We were in love, or so we told each other. We were not together for various reasons and it made us sad. This song meant a great deal to us- we were both amazed that we had finally met and were amazed that our feelings were returned. We both thought we were “out of our league.” She had to travel and while she was away I was admitted into the hospital. I wasn’t in pain, but no one could decipher my illness. Alone, lonely, and perhaps a bit frightened, I lay in my hospital bed listening to music and this song came on. I didn’t call her to tell her about my sickness- she’d be back and I’d be home- why worry her? It was late at night and in the middle of the song she called- she was just thinking about me; how was I doing? I said I was fine, how was the trip?

We’re not together and I haven’t spoken to her for years. I miss her sometimes and hope she’s okay. For awhile this song made me too sad, but now I can listen to it again. It’s a nice song.

Leave a Reply

