Why I Love the Olympics

I’m not really into sports. Oh, I get the whole idea of “triumph of the human spirit” and inspirational stories, but I don’t get invested in sporting events for some reason. So, based on that, I was never really into the Olympics. That changed in 1984.

During the Opening Ceremonies in Los Angeles, I watched the parade of nations and I noticed something great.

As all the countries marched by you could see the uniformity of the races; Germany is pretty much all Caucasian, China is all Chinese, India is all Indian and so forth…

And here come the Americans!! What a wonderful, melange of ethnicity we are. Our Olympic teams are composed of athletes from all of our nation and represent the so-called “melting pot.” To see them all march past, bearing the American flag, made me feel proud to see such diversity.

So, my favorite event? The Opening Ceremonies. Go America!

Leave a Reply

