Flash!

Wow. This trailer for the upcoming FLASH tv series is amazing. I want to see the series and now I want to watch Green Arrow.

I’ll be perfectly honest, I got a little choked up watching this. They seem, just from this 5 minutes, to have Barry Allen down.. his optimism and decision to do good (as opposed to vengeance or a mission.) I hope that’s proven (though I was not overjoyed by the fairly recent comic book storyline that introduced the murder of his mother. Didn’t feel that was necessary for the character to seek justice) for the rest of the show.

Not only are there tiny tiny hints of stunning things to come, but one of the very first comics I ever bought was this:

$(KGrHqFHJFIFJtglLW7ZBScUZ4MBig~~60_35It was a giant tabloid-size comic that had the origins of the original/Golden Age Flash, Hawkman, Johnny Thunder, and other characters lost to time. But it was one of my first personal purchases… I must have been ten, maybe eleven and I found it (and some other other tabloid-size comics) at a garage sale. Now, this comic and others were first published in the late 30s and early 40s. (1940 specifically for the Flash) and these are the comics that I grew up on.

I have such fond memories of the Golden Age of comics (and Abbott & Costello and various black and white movies) that I sometimes feel much older than I actually am. My childhood stories and toys are that of someone born in the 30s. It’s a strange feeling. This guy knows what I’m talking about (points to Dr. Cyclops in the front row.)

 

Anyway, I’m excited for the continuing adventures someone called Flash!

Leave a Reply

