I Am a Collectible

Two of the times people reminisce the most are birthdays and moving. I did both in one month so I’ve been waxing nostalgic for the past few weeks. (And besides poetic, why don’t we “wax” anything else?)

I found some fun things amongst the extraneous boxes of JasonChinmemorabilia (it’s like the last shot of Raiders in here). I’m exactly middle-age now and never has this been more apt. My generation straddles the analog and digital ages; I have vinyl, cassettes, mini-disks, CDs, flashdrives and tiny MP3 players. At one point I was working at a place where I got film and developing for free so I have tons of photos (actual physical photos) from that period of my life. That period lasted for many years. In fact I just discovered some wonderful photos of Halloween shows from the past… Once I get a desk, I’ll hook up my scanner and get them online. I don’t know why she swallowed that fly.

Ages ago, I was the coach for Deep Schwa. I had coached them for maybe more than a decade when I decided to hang it up (the cast had been solid/stable for years and in fact, now is almost completely different from the people I had coached… Craig Uhlir IMG_0743would move to Las Vegas for a few years and then return. Same for Jeff Griggs (he went on many a SC boat.) So, we had a nice little get together at Buca de Beppo on Clark Street (since defunct). They all chipped in and had Dave Gilley (who was a performer at iO at the time) whip up my very own personal action figure! Check it out!

That background behind the figure is an exact replica of what the iO cabaret looked like. It was like we were sponsored by Warner Brothers cartoons. And… yes, the hair is accurate.

At the time, I was doing a Halloween show and the delightful Piero Procaccini was playing Fred, from the Scooby-Doo show. (Check out his old, forgotten blog here.) Wigs were not working out with Piero’s lustrous and thick ebony hair. So, we made a deal- he would bleach his hair IF I did as well. So, one night after rehearsal (and in those days, rehearsal could begin at 10pm) we stayed and the wonderful Erica Reid bleached our heads!

It was not fun. I hated it but anything for the show. Here’s what I looked like… (please forgive some of the photos… they’re pics I took with my phone… like I mentioned before, I don’t have a desk so my computer stuff is not hooked up… I should uh probably buy a desk soon. I love desks.)

IMG_0747

 

My hair grows really fast (and I heal quite quickly as well)- I’m the Low-Rent Wolverine. I have to admit, I think I look cute in that pic. And thinner. Sigh. Trust me, age and sadness add the pounds.

I have no idea what year this is… I think 99? Maybe?

When my desk is set up I’ll scan some more ridiculous things but this is me with what many assumed were my frosted hair tips. Sadly, this is far from the worst hair I’ve ever had.

Also, I love Halloween shows. I want to do more.

 

IMG_0744 IMG_0745 IMG_0746

Leave a Reply

