My Last Meal on Earth

The Mars One project is an effort to send a team of people to the red planet to establish a permanent station there. The ship leaves Earth in 2022 and would land on Mars several months later. Any one can submit an application to go on the trip but there’s a catch… it is a one way trip. The travelers will land on Mars, establish/build the colony and then… die there (of old age, one hopes.)
So, what if you’ve been chosen?
What would be your last meal on Earth?

18505This is a question I’ve been adding to our verbal pattern warm-ups for some time. I think it’s an interesting question and the class usually gives some great answers. It usually makes me hungry.

The other day, I was thinking about the question myself. A giant steak would be nice. So would a chicken parmesan with spaghetti dinner. I mean, what would be the best way to celebrate my life on earth?
And then it struck me; how could I celebrate life on earth by taking a life? Killing something to satisfy my own personal celebration would be incongruous with the idea of bringing life to a new planet. The thought made me sad. I’m by no means a vegetarian, but my last meal on Earth would be vegetables and rice. Maybe some quinoa for dessert.

See ya later, Earthlings.

Leave a Reply

